Drop Down MenusCSS Drop Down MenuPure CSS Dropdown Menu

Friday, September 12, 2014

English Short Notes for Bank Recruitment Exams (Part 2)

World Bank: The World Banks is an international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programmes. The World Bank has a stated goal of reducing poverty. By laws, all of its decisions must be guided by a commitment to promote foreign investment, international trade and facilitate capital investment. The World Bank differs from the World Bank Group, in that the World Bank comprises only two institutions: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA), whereas the latter incorporates these two in addition to three more. International finance Corporation (IFC), Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA), and International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO): The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts of defeat hunger. It is established in 16 October 1945 and its headquarters is in Rome, Italy. FAO is also a source of knowledge and information, and helps developing countries and countries in transition modernize and improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices, ensuring good nutrition and food security for all.

Must Read: Inflation and Its Impact on Our Economy

World Health Organization (WHO): The world Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) that acts as a coordinating authority on international public health. It was established on April 7, 1948 and its headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. The agency inherited the mandate and resources of its predecessor, the health organization, which was an agency of the league of nations.

Must Read: Global Warming and its Mitigation Measures

UNICEF: United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) was created by the United Nations General Assembly on December 11, 1946, to provide emergency food and healthcare to children in countries that had been devastated by World War II. In 1953. UNICEF became a permanent part of the United Nations System and its name was shortened from the original United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund but it has continued to be known by the popular acronyms based on this old name. Its Headquarters is in New York City. UNICEF provides long term humanitarian and developmental assistance to children and mothers in developing countries. It was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1965.

Must Read: Role of ICT in Good Governance

UNESCO: The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations established on 16 November 1945. Its stated purpose is to contribute to peace and security by promoting international collaboration through education, science and culture in order to further universal respect for justice, the rule of law, and the human rights along with fundamental freedoms proclaimed in the UN charter. It is the heir of the League of Nations international Commission on intellectual Cooperation. It has 193 Member states and seven associate members and its headquarters is in Paris, France.
Receive Updates Straight in Your Inbox by Submitting Your email Below.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...